Tamil News

Film Producer Kotapadi J Rajesh Joins BJP

Celebrities At The 'Hero' Audio And Trailer Launch

Film producer Kotapadi J Rajesh, also known as ‘KJP’, joined the ruling party BJP, on Tuesday evening.

Announcing it on Twitter, KJR Studios wrote, “Very happy to have joined @BJP4India today 😊 Overwhelmed by the warm welcome from the State Leaders  @Murugan_TNBJP 🙏🏽 Looking forward to working hard for the party & the people of the state & the nation, following Shri @narendramodi ji’s guidance. Seeking all your blessings 🙏🏽

In an interview to Cinema Express in 2019, Kotapadi had said, “I am drawn to films that deal with social themes.”

According to the KJR Studios’ official website, KJR is a former banker with over 12 years of experience. “He has always had an undying love for cinema which resulted in the establishment of KJR studios,” the website reads.

Kotapadi has produced films, including Tamil drama Aramm in 2017 (written and directed by Gopi Nainar and featuring Nayanthara), Tamil action comedy Gulaebaghavali in 2018 (written and directed by Kalyaan and starring Prabhu Deva and Hansika Motwani), Tamil horror film Airaa in 2019 (written and directed by KM Sarjun and starring Nayanthara and Kalaiyarasan), Tamil superhero film Hero (directed by PS Mithran, featuring Sivakarthikeyan, Abhay Deol, Kalyani Priyadarshan and Ivana in pivotal roles), Tamil political drama Ka Pae Ranasingam (released by Zee5 and directed by P Virumaandi, featuring Vijay Sethupathi and Aishwarya Rajesh).


A few upcoming films under Kotapadi’s banner include Tamil comedy-drama Aalambana (written and directed by Pari K Vijay, starring VaibhavParvatii Nair, and Remya Nambeesan), Tamil science-fiction romantic comedy Dikkiloona (written and directed by Karthik Yogi, featuring SanthanamAnagha, and Shirin Kanchwala and Yogi BabuHarbhajan SinghRajendran and Anandaraj in supporting roles), Tamil action comedy Doctor (written and directed by Nelson Dhilipkumar, featuring Sivakarthikeyan and Priyanka Arul Mohan in lead roles and Yogi Babu and Vinay in supporting roles), Tamil science-fiction Ayalaan (directed by R Ravikumar, and co-produced by RD Raja, starring  Sivakarthikeyan, Rakul Preet SinghSharad Kelkar, and Isha Koppikar).

Other film personalities who have joined the BJP previously include D Napolean, Gangai Amaran (brother of veteran musician Illayaraja), actor Gayathri Raghuram, director Kasthuriraja, actor-producer Kutty Padmini, Namitha, and RK Suresh.