Hindi News

63rd National Film Awards – List of Winners

The 63rd National Film Awards were announced today, March 28, in New Delhi. The winners were chosen by a 11-member jury, headed by Bollywood director Ramesh Sippy. SS Rajamouli’s epic war drama Baahubali won the award for Best Feature Film, becoming the first Telugu film to win the award. The biggest grosser of 2015, Salman Khan’s Bajrangi Bhaijaan, won the award for the Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment.


Actor Amitabh Bachchan won his fourth National Award for his performance in Shoojit Sircar’s Piku. Kangana Ranaut won her third National Award for her performance in a dual role in Tanu Weds Manu Returns. Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Bajirao Mastani won the maximum number of awards. The period drama won the awards for direction, supporting actress, cinematography, sound design and sound mixing, production design and choreography.

Music maestro Ilaiyaraaja won the award for the Best Background Score for his 1000th film, Bala’s Thaarai Thappattai. M Jayachandran won the award for Best Music Direction for his soulful score in the Malayalam film Ennu Ninte Moideen. 

Visaaranai, director Vetrimaaran’s gripping crime drama, won 3 awards – Best Feature Film in Tamil, Best Editor (late TE Kishore) and Best Supporting Actor (Samuthirakani)

Here is the full list of Award Winners:


Best Feature Film, Best Special Effects – Baahubali
Best Popular Film – Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Director – Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani
Best Actor – Amitabh Bachchan for Piku
Best actress- Kangana Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Best Supporting Actor – Samuthirakani for Visaranai
Best Supporting Actress – Tanvi Azmi for Bajirao Mastani
Best Female Playback singer – Monali Thakur for ‘Moh Moh Ke Daage‘ from Dum Lagake Haisha
Best Cinematography – Sudeep Chatterjee for Bajirao Mastani
Best Adapted Screenplay – Vishal Bharadwaj for Talvar
Best Original Screenplay and Dialogues – shared by Piku and Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Best Sound Design – Bajirao Mastani
Best Editor – TE Kishore for Visaaranai
Best Production Design – Bajirao Mastani
Best Music Award – M Jayachandran for Ennu Ninte Moideen
Best Background Score – Ilaiyaraaja for Thaarai Thappattai
Best Lyrics – Moh Moh ke Daage from Dum Lagake Haisha
Jury award – Kalki Koechlin for Margarita With A Straw
Best Choreography – Remo D’Souza for Bajirao Mastani
Best Children’s Film: Duronto
Best Feature Film on National Integration: Nanak Shah Fakir
Best Film on Social Issue: Niranayakam (Malayalam)
Best Hindi film – Dum Lagake Haisha
Best Kannada film – Thithi
Best Malayalam film – Pathemari
Best Tamil film – Visaranai
Best Telugu film – Kanche
Special Mention to actor Jayasuriya for Su Su Sudhi Valmeekam and Lukka Chuppi (Malayalam)
Special Mention to actress Ritika Singh for Irudhi Suttru (Tamil)