India's Premier Cinema Magazine

Tamil News

Bhagyaraj And Team Meet Today To Decide Nadigar Sangam Election Agenda

K Bhagyaraj At The 'Miga Miga Avasaram' Trailer Launch

Actor and director K Bhagyaraj will contest opposite Nasser for the post of president in the upcoming South Indian Artists Association (SIAA) or Nadigar Sangam elections.

Isari K Ganesh will contest for general secretary from this team, opposite Vishal Krishna. Actors Udhaya and Kutty Padmini are standing for vice-president, opposite S Murugan or Poochi Murugan and actor Karunas. The treasurer for the team, who will go against Karthi, is yet to be decided.

Speaking to Silverscreen, K Bhagyaraj said that the name of their team, election agenda and promises for the new term will be decided and announced soon. “We are meeting today at 11 am, when we will have further discussions and we are planning to organise a press meet,” he said.

Bhagyaraj has held the post of president for the South Indian Film Writers’ Association (SWAN), which he stepped down from in November last year. Isari Ganesh and Udhaya campaigned for Vishal’s team in the previous Nadigar Sangam elections, and Isari Ganesh recently also donated Rs 1 crore for the Sangam building. Actor Udhaya had said last month that he was not satisfied with the functioning of the union, and so he will contest opposite Vishal.

Meanwhile, it was announced yesterday that Karthi has also donated Rs 1 crore for the construction of the Sangam building, which is reportedly costing the association Rs 35 crores totally. The delay in completion of the building, which was supposed to complete by March, is also the reason why the current office-bearers Nasser, Vishal, Karthi, Ponvannan postponed the elections by almost a year.

Meanwhile, the contestant list for Nasser’s team, called ‘Pandavar Ani’, was announced this week. The 26 members are mostly those who have already contested and campaigned for the group, including Kovai Sarala, Manobala, Prasanna, Sriman, Pasupathy, and others.

Retired judge E Padmanabhan has been appointed to preside over the elections this time. It will be held at MGR Janaki College in Chennai on June 23 from 7 am to 5 pm.

© Copyright 2013 - 2020 Silverscreen Media Inc.