Tamil News

Controversy Over ‘Maari 2’ Release Date, Producers Say TFPC Never Responded

Maari 2 Movie Stills Starring Dhanush, Kreshna

A controversy has sparked after actor Dhanush’s production company released an audio note explaining why Maari 2’s release date was announced before TFPC’s confirmation. The note went viral on social media.


According to a report, someone from the company released the note saying that Dinesh from TFPC, who was supposed to keep in touch regarding the release date, had been unresponsive: “Dinesh used to call and inform that there was a meeting, and later, on the day of meeting, he would tell us sir was not feeling well and cancel the meeting. This happened many times. We could not arrive at any conclusion. It seemed like they did it on purpose. The same happened even during the release of Kaala. So we decided to release Maari 2 on December 21. We gave the letter two months back and the film has cleared its censor.”

He further added, “We’ve advertised that the film will release on December 21. Since the film’s budget is Rs 33 crore, we are paying nearly Rs 1 crore as debt every month. So far, we kept quiet because we respected the council, but we can’t do it anymore because none of them have responded to us.”


There’s an unrest among theatre owners and distributors, as films like Jayam Ravi’s Adanga Maru, Sivakarthikeyan’s productional venture Kanaa, Vijay Sethupathi’s Seethakaathi and Vishnu Vishal’s Silukkuvaarpatti Singam – all release on the same day. It is said that the Producers’ Council did not confirm release date for only Maari 2.

Directed by Balaji Mohan, and produced by Wunderbar Films, Maari 2 stars actor Dhanush and Sai Pallavi in the lead, and features Tovino Thomas, Varalaxmi Sarathkumar, Robo Shankar, Krishna, Kalloori Vinoth, Kaali Venkat and Vidya Pradeep in other roles.

The music has been composed by Yuvan Shankar Raja, who is collaborating with Dhanush after almost a decade. Their last two films together were Parattai Engira Azhagu Sundaram (2007) and Yaaradi Nee Mohini (2008).