India News

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards South 2020: Dhanush, Jyothika Win Top Honours

Actor Dhanush has won the Best Actor (Male) in the Tamil films category at the Dadasaheb Phalke Awards for South Indian films 2020, announced on Friday. Other winners among actors included Jyothika for the Best Actor (Female) in the Tamil films category, and Ajith Kumar and Mohanlal in the Best Versatile Actor in the Tamil and Malayalam film categories respectively.


To Let won the Best Film award among Tamil films, while Jersey and Uyare won in the Telugu and Malayalam Best Film categories. R Parthiban won the Best Director (Tamil) for Oththa Seruppu Size 78, while director Madhu C Narayan won Best Director (Malayalam) for Kumbalangi Nights and director Sujeeth won Best Director (Telugu) for Saaho.

Films in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam languages were eligible for these awards. The awards ceremony, which aims to recognize and celebrate South Indian films every year, was first held in 2019 in Hyderabad, Telangana. 

Speaking to Silverscreen India, the publicity manager for the Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival (DPIFF) said, “Though the list of winners has been announced, the event will be held once the pandemic is over.”

In the first edition, actors Mahesh Babu and Anushka Shetty had won the Best Actor awards for their respective categories while actors Yash and Keerthy Suresh won the Outstanding Performance of the Year award.

Following is a list of awardees for 2020:


Best Film

  1. Tamil- To Let 
  2. Telugu- Jersey 
  3. Malayalam- Uyare 
  4. Kannada- Mookajjiya Kanasugalu 

Best Director

  1. Tamil- R Parthiban (Oththa Seruppu Size 7)
  2. Telugu- Sujeeth (Saaho)
  3. Malayalam- Madhu C Narayan (Kumbalangi Nights)
  4. Kannada- Ramesh Indira (Premier Padmini)

Best Actor (Male)

  1. Tamil- Dhanush (Asuran)
  2. Telugu- Naveen Polishetty (Agent Sai Srinivasa Athreya)
  3. Malayalam- Suraj Venjaramoodu (Android Kunjappan)
  4. Kannada- Rakshit Shetty (Avane Srimannarayana)

Best Actor (Female)

  1. Tamil- Jyothika (Raatchasi)
  2. Telugu- Rashmika Mandanna (Dear Comrade)
  3. Malayalam- Parvathy Thiruvothu (Uyare)
  4. Kannada- Tanya Hope (Yajamana)

Best Music Director-

  1. Tamil- Anirudh Ravichander
  2. Telugu- SS Thaman
  3. Malayalam- Deepak Dev
  4. Kannada- V Harikrishna

Most Versatile Actor

  1. Tamil- Ajith Kumar
  2. Telugu- Nagarjuna Akkineni
  3. Malayalam- Mohanlal
  4. Kannada- Shivraj Kumar

DPIFF also hosts the awards ceremony for the Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival Awards, which will be held this year on 20 February 2021 at the Taj Lands End in Mumbai.