Hindi News

Filmfare Awards: Hindi Medium Wins Best Film, Rajkummar Rao Goes Home With Two Awards

Many Bollywood celebrities make it a point to stay away from awards functions as they call it a sham, where merit is ignored that saleability and nepotism are given more importance. However, the winners of last night’s Filmfare awards have surprisingly been a melange of some really good talents and films.


For starters, none of the offsprings of Bollywood’s big guys won awards. One can imagine the outrage, had Varun Dhawan won the Best Actor instead of Irrfan Khan. One would’ve been even more outraged if Rajkummar Rao hadn’t won a single award despite being snubbed for the Best Actor category. But, Filmfare surprises this year.

While the event was high on glamour and fashion, with an attendance from all the who’s-who of Bollywood, the real surprise was the list of winners.

Here are the winners:

Best Film (Popular)

Hindi Medium

Critics’ Award for Best FilmAmit Masurkar (Newton)

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male) (Popular)Irrfan Khan – Hindi Medium

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male)Rajkummar Rao – Trapped

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female) (Popular)Vidya Balan – Tumhari Sulu

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) Zaira Wasim – Secret Superstar

Best Director (Popular)Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari – Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Debut DirectorKonkona Sen Sharma – A Death in the Gunj

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)Meher Vij – Secret Superstar

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)Rajkummar Rao – Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Music AlbumJagga Jasoos – Pritam

Best LyricsAmitabh Bhattacharya – Ullu ka patha (Jagga Jasoos)

Best Playback Singer (Female)Meghna Mishra – Nachdi Phira (Secret Superstar)

Best Playback Singer (Male)Arijit Singh – Roke na ruke naina (Badrinath Ki Dulhania)

Lifetime Achievement AwardMala Sinha

Bappi Lahiri

Best Original StoryAmit V Masurkar – Newton

 Best DialogueHitesh Kewalya – Shubh Mangal Saavdhan

 Best ScreenplayShubhashish Bhutiani – Mukti Bhawan

Best ActionTom Struthers – Tiger Zinda Hai

 Best Background ScorePritam – Jagga Jasoos

Best Production DesignParul Sondh – Daddy

Best CostumeRohit Chaturvedi – A Death In The Gunj

Best Sound DesignAnish John – Trapped

Best EditingNitin Baid – Trapped

Best ChoreographyVijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani (Galti se mistake – Jagga Jasoos)

Best CinematographySirsha Ray – A Death In The Gunj

Short Film Awards Best Short Film (fiction) 

Juice – Neeraj Ghaywan

Best Actor (Male) in a Short FilmJackie Shroff – Khujli

Best Actor (Female) in a Short FilmShefali Shah – Juice

Best Short Film Non-fictionInvisible Wings – Hari M Mohanan