Tamil News

Kutty Story: Tamil Anthology Film Starring Vijay Sethupathi, Amala Paul, Sakshi Agarwal & Megha Akash Was Written Through Zoom Calls During the Ongoing Pandemic

Kutty Story, upcoming Tamil romantic anthology film directed by four filmmakers Gautham Vasudev Menon, Venkat Prabhu, AL Vijay, and Nalan Kumarasamy and starring Vijay Sethupathi, Amala Paul, Megha Akash, Sangita, Sakshi Agarwal, and Robo Shankar, was created and written, all through Zoom calls during the ongoing pandemic, the filmmakers said on Friday.


Speaking at a press conference organized in Chennai on Friday, ahead of the film’s release in theatres on February 12, director Gautham Vasudev Menon said “At the beginning itself, we decided to release it in theatres.”

Ishari K Ganesh, who is producing the film under the Vels Film International banner, explained how the anthology took shape during the pandemic. “It all started on a small scale with an idea floated by Venkat and Vijay and then it got bigger with the arrival of Gautham Vasudev Menon. This was followed by the addition of Nalan Kumarasamy. Vijay Sethupathi also came on board, later,” he said.

All four stories in Kutty Story, are based on the premise of ‘love’, filmmakers said. “This is why we wanted to release it in theatres before Valentine’s Day,” Ganesh said.

“All the other short stories involve big star-cast and a lot of technicians. I wanted to try something different- that’s when the idea of ‘Video Gaming’ came up. Many are getting into relationships through online video-gaming today. This forms the core of my film,” said Venkat Prabhu.

Kumaraswamy, while speaking about the rising number of anthology films being made said “The trend of anthology-based films will become a favourite one for filmmakers and it will definitely be a prominent genre in the near future.”

While Menon’s story is ‘dedicated to teenagers’, Vijay’s story is for the ‘female audience’. Nalan’s story, which Sethupathi is acting in, is about ‘married couples’, an official press release from the makers said.

The music for the anthology is jointly composed by Premgi Amaren, Karthik, Edwin Louis Viswanath, and Madhu R. Ashwin Kumar is the executive producer of the film.