India's Premier Cinema Magazine

Hollywood News

Netflix Announces Full List of Its Summer Releases


Netflix on Tuesday announced its lineup of summer releases, which includes zombie action film Army of the Dead, Dhanush-starrer Jagame Thandhiram, and drama film Fatherhood, featuring Kevin Hart.

Netflix had earlier announced that it would release at least one new film every week. The streaming service on Tuesday released a nearly three-minute-long video showing glimpses of the films across genres. Th streaming service will be releasing over 30 films between April and August.

American horror-thriller Things Heard & Seen (starring Amanda Seyfried), and The Mitchells vs The Machines, an animated sci-fi comedy, is scheduled to release on April 29 and 30 respectively.

In May, Netflix will be seeing seven releases, including Army of the Dead, a zombie heist action film directed and co-written by Zack Snyder, on May 21. The month will begin with the debut of Monster, a film that follows a teenager’s battle to prove his innocence in “robbery-turned-murder fights” against the justice system, on May 7. Other films include Oxygen, The Woman in the Window, Ghost Lab, Blue Miracle, and Baggio: The Divine Ponytail.

With 10 new releases, June will see the greatest number of films presented by Netflix. Jagame Thandhiram is set to stream on June 18. Directed by Karthik Subbaraj, the film narrates the story of Suruli (Dhanush), a nomadic gangster who has to choose between good and evil in a war for what one can truly call home. Also releasing on the same day is Kevin Hart’s Fatherhood, which will premiere ahead of Father’s Day which is celebrated on June 20. America: The Motion Picture, an animated comedy film that will feature the voice of Channing Tatum, will release on June 30

Singer and actress Christina Milian’s Resort to Love and action-comedy film The Last Mercenary will be leading the July releases.

In August, Netflix will release three films- Sweet Girl, He’s All That, and Beckett.

For the full list of film releases, click here.

© Copyright 2013 - 2021 Silverscreen Media Inc.