India News

‘Pariyerum Perumal’, ‘C/o Kancharapalem’, ‘Andhadhun’ Win First Critic Choice Awards

Pariyerum Perumal was adjudged the best Tamil film at the first Critics Choice Film Awards (CCFA) held in Mumbai on Sunday. Director Mari Selvaraj, who was present at the event, collected the trophy from Boney Kapoor and Aditi Rao Hydari.

Pariyerum Perumal, produced by filmmaker Pa Ranjith, talked about the caste system prevalent in society. The critically acclaimed movie has won numerous awards, and has been screened at many festivals around the world, latest being the Toulouse Film Festival in France.

The Critics Choice Awards is the only pan-Indian body after the National Film Awards to award filmmaking in eight major languages. These include Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati, Bengali, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam cinema.

In Malayalam, Lijo Jose Pellissery won the award for his film Ee Ma Yau while Maha Venkatesh won the award in Telugu for his film C/o Kancharapalem and D Satya Prakash won the award in Kannada for Ondalla Eradalla.

Ee Ma Yau, starring Chemban Vinod and Vinayakan is a social satire centred on the theme of death.

C/O Kancharapalem is a love story that talks about social issues like caste and religion.

Ondalla Eradalla is a comedy-drama that revolves around a kid who goes in search of his missing cow.

Hosted by Neha Dhupia, the event was attended by Shah Rukh Khan whose speech, roasting the movie critics, has gone viral by now.

Andhadhun and its director Sriram Raghavan were adjudged the best film and filmmaker at the awards. Alia Bhatt won the best actress award for her performance in Raazi while Vineeth Kumar Singh won the best actor award for his performance in Anurag Kashyap’s Mukkabaaz.

The extraordinary achievement award at the CCFA was presented to Reshma Pathan, also known as India’s first stuntwoman. Pathan, who worked as a body-double for Hema Malini in Sholay, was presented the award by the movie’s director Ramesh Sippy and writer Javed Akhtar.

Amit Trivedi won the award for the Best Music Director for his song Halla from Manmarziyaan, another Anurag Kashyap film.

Surekha Sikhri and Manoj Pahwa won the awards in the supporting actor categories for their performances in Badhaai Ho and Mulk respectively.

The writing team of Andhadhun comprising director Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Pooja Ladha Surti, Yogesh Chandekar and Hemanth Rao won the award for the best script. Tumbbad, the horror fantasy that became a sleeper hit, won Pankaj Kumar the award for the best cinematographer.

Earlier this month, Vidya Balan and Zoya Akhtar had announced the nominations for the awards. The CCFA is organized by The Film Critics Guild and Motion Content Group that had also held the Critics’ Choice Short Film Awards in December.

Image Courtesy: Indian Television