Tamil News

Producers Protest At Nadigar Sangam Against Vishal’s Comments

A group of producers including Suresh Kamatchi, R Radhakrishnan, and filmmaker Cheran were protesting at the premises of Nadigar Sangam this morning, in a bid to show dissent towards actor Vishal’s comments on producers. 

The protesters, armed with slogans and placards, condemning the comments made by Vishal last year, declared that the actor had ‘no business’ to make such distasteful remarks. The group even alleged that Vishal is ‘responsible for making many producers lose money’.

Vishal, the general secretary of the Nadigar Sangam, has frequently been at loggerheads with the Tamil Nadu Film Producers’ Council. In an interview with a Tamil magazine last year, Vishal made a jibe at producers. “The members of the Producers’ Council are not ready to have discussions about how to effectively curb piracy, or measures to tackle the problem of satellite rights. But if a producer has some issues with payments to an actor, they are ready to have a meeting, complete with snacks on the table,” he said in the interview. 

Read: Producer Suresh Kamatchi Calls Vishal’s Criticism of Producers Council Irresponsible


The 39-year-old actor had faced flak from several members of the Producers’ Council, for which he’d issued an apology earlier this year. “I state that I had only expressed my personal views, maybe in a slightly strong manner but without any ulterior motive or intention to hurt anyone or create any controversy and ill-will. In fact, in the same interview, I had clarified that I have nothing personal against any of the elected office-bearers, but still some of the individuals feel that I have made a personal attack,” his statement said.

The Nadigar Sangam, having held a press meet yesterday, is gearing up for the TFPC elections to be held next month. Vishal’s team will be battling a group of veteran producers while at the same time, having seasoned members of the industry such as Prakash Raj, Gautam Menon and Mysskin on their side. The other group, led by R Radhakrishnan, has K Rajan, Sivasakthi Pandian and JSK Satish Kumar in it, with the support of Kalaipuli S Thanu.