Bengali News

Srijit Mukherji, Soumitra Chatterjee’s ‘Barunbabur Bondhu’ Among Winners at Joy Filmfare Awards Bangla 2021

Filmmaker Srijit Mukherji, actors Arjun ChakrabortyAnirban Bhattacharya, and late Soumitra Chatterjee‘s Barunbabur Bondhu all bagged awards at the Joy Filmfare Awards Bangla 2021.


The 5th Joy Filmfare Awards Bangla took place in Kolkata on Thursday. The Bengali edition of Filmfare Awards was started back in 2017.

“We are all here to celebrate art. This is an event we look forward to all year,” said actor Subhashree Ganguly during the event. Actor Arpita Chatterjee said she was thankful for “Covid-free” times and to glad to see “pretty” faces at the awards after a year.

Securing his second Filmfare Award, Mukherji won the Best Screenplay honour for the 2020 Bengali thriller Dwitiyo Purush, a sequel to 2011’s Baishe Srabon. Mukherji had previously won a Filmfare Award for the 2019 thriller Vinci Da.

“Second consecutive Black lady. Dedicated to my Favourite Lady. Best Screenplay for Dwitiyo Purush,” wrote Mukherji on Instagram, sharing a picture of his daughter holding the award.

The Best Screenplay award was shared by Dhurbo Banerjee, who wrote the 2021 Bengali historic sports drama Golondaaj.

The Best Film award was, meanwhile, shared by Tonic, starring Paran Bandopadhyay and Dev, and Borunbabur Bondhu, led by late Soumitra Chatterjee. The latter’s director Anik Dutta earned the Best Director award.

Among the actors, Bhattacharya and Chakraborty were both awarded the Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male) for their films Avijatrik and Dwitiyo Purush, respectively. Arpita Chatterjee secured the Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) for Abyakto.


Paran Bandopadhyay and Jaya Ahsan earned Best Actor in a Leading Role for their films Tonic and Binisutoy, respectively. Best Actor in a Supporting Role was awarded to Aparajita Auddy and Saimul Alam for their roles in the films Cheeni and Tangra Blues, respectively.

Musicians and singers Shantanu Moitra, Anupam Roy, Prasenjit Mukherjee and Shibabrata Biswas bagged the Best Music Album award for the 2020 film Prem Tame. Best Lyrics and Best Playback Singer (Female) honours went to the film Ekannoborti, and were won by Nilanjan Chakraborty and Lagnajita Chakraborty, respectively.

Other winners of the evening included Anik Dutta and Utsav Mukherjee for Best Dialogue for Borunbabur Bondhu and Supratim Bhol for Best Cinematography for Avijatrik.