India's Premier Cinema Magazine

Tamil News

Tamil Film Producers Council Election to be Held on November 22


The long-delayed Tamil Film Producers Council (TFPA) election will be held on November 22, Election Commissioner M Jayachandran appointed by the Madras High Court announced.  

The election will be held from 8 am to 4 pm at MGR Janaki College at Adyar in Chennai. 

The current office is being held by actor Vishal. Last year, Vishal’s team locked horns with the opposition including, producers T Siva, Sathya Jyoti Thyagarajan, AL Azhagappan and others after they demanded Vishal’s resignation over alleged misappropriation of funds.

In protest, producers had locked and sealed the TFPC office. Vishal, who attempted to break open the seal, was later arrested. The state government, in response, appointed a special officer to administer the council. N Sekar, district registrar (admin) of Central Chennai, was appointed the special officer to manage the council’s functions for a year. 

It was earlier announced that election will be held on June 21 and Murali Rama Narayanan of Thenandal Films who represented one of the factions, contested for the presidential post. Producers Michael Rayappan and Subash Chandra Bose were to contest for the post of vice president. While Radhakrishnan contested for the post of secretary, KJ Rajesh contested for the post of treasurer. However, the election never took place. 

On the other hand, director Bharathiraja and a few other filmmakers left TFPC recently to begin their own association. On September 14, the new office for the Tamil Film Active Producers Association was inaugurated on Anna Salai in Chennai. Bharathiraja was elected as the newly-formed association’s chairman. T Siva was elected as the secretary, and Dhananjayan and SR Prabhu as the vice chairmen. Lalit Kumar and Suresh Kamatchi were elected as the joint secretaries. 

© Copyright 2013 - 2021 Silverscreen Media Inc.