Hollywood News

American Music Awards: BTS Becomes First Asian Group to Win Artist of the Year

BTS won the Artist of the Year award at the American Music Awards, that was held on Sunday, and became the first Asian group to achieve the feat. The K-pop boy band, also known as Bangtan Boys, dominated the evening with the most number of wins, along with Doja Cat and Megan Thee Stallion.


While receiving the Artist of the Year award, leader and rapper RM, said, “Thank you AMAs. We’re truly honoured to be on this stage with such amazing, tremendous artists.”

He called the win a miracle, and added that they will never take it for granted. “Four years ago, we gave our first-ever TV live performance at this stage, AMAs. It was DNA [the song] and we were too excited and nervous at the time. It’s been a long and amazing ride since then, but nobody could have ever bet on the odds of us standing here receiving this award. Seven boys from Korea, united by a love for music.”

BTS also won the Favourite Pop Group award as well as Favourite Pop Song for Butter, which they performed at the event. They also teamed up with the band Coldplay for a performance of My Universe.

The seven-member group’s total tally of AMAs now stands at nine awards.


The 25th edition of the AMAs was hosted by rapper and singer Cardi B. It was held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles and awards were presented by the likes of Ansel Elgort, Rachel Zegler, Anthony Ramos, Billy Porter, Brandy, JB Smoove, JoJo Siwa, Liza Koshy, Machine Gun Kelly, Marsai Martin, Madelyn Cline, and Winnie Harlow.

Doja Cat and Megan Thee Stallion were the top female winners at the event. Doja Cat took home the awards for Collaboration of the Year, Favorite Female R&B Artist, and Favorite R&B Album. Megan Thee Stallion also won three awards – Favorite Trending Song, Favorite Female Hip-Hop Artist, and Favorite Hip-Hop Album.

Singer-songwriter Taylor Swift, who has won 34 AMAs through her career, took home the awards for Favorite Female Pop Artist and Favorite Pop Album for her album Evermore.

Singer Olivia Rodrigo, who made her AMA performance debut, won the New Artist of the Year award.

The event also featured performances from Bruno Mars and Anderson Paak, Carrie Underwood and Jason Aldean, and Jennifer Lopez, among others.