Jaideep Ahlawat and Mohd Zeeshan Ayyub, the Hindi actors, will be seen together in the Indian adaptation of the British mystery series Guilt. The upcoming series will be directed by Shaad Ali and produced by Applause Entertainment in association with BBC Studios India.

The award-winning British drama Guilt was created and produced by Happy Tramp North and Expectation for BBC Scotland and BBC Two. The British series, which starred Mark Bonnar and Jamie Sives, was set in Edinburgh and revolved around two estranged brothers thrown together by tragedy and united by guilt.

The Indian version of Guilt will follow the lives of brothers Jaggi and Daljeet. While the elder brother Jaggi enjoys the comfort of a wealthy and seemingly perfect life, the younger Daljeet struggles to survive by running a vintage book shop cum café. Their lives spin out of control when a tragic accident occurs and distrust starts enveloping their lives, creating a rift between them and everyone around.

The six-part series will also feature Tina Desai, Shruti Seth, Maya Alagh, Mugdha Godse, and Satish Kaushik.

Director Ali, who has previously helmed films such as Saathiya and Bunty Aur Babli, said in a statement that the series “oscillates between the nuances of brotherhood, suspicion and consequences of choice.”

Sameer Nair, CEO, Applause Entertainment, added, “As an account of altering moralities in the face of adversity, Guilt cements itself as yet another splendid thriller that is sure to find resonance amongst viewers.”

Applause Entertainment and BBC Studios have partnered in the past on popular dramas such as Criminal Justice, Rudra – The Edge of Darkness with Ajay Devgn, and an adaptation of Neil Cross’ Luther.

A streaming platform for the upcoming series is yet to be announced.

Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub was last seen in Amazon Prime Video’s Tandav. He played a college activist named Shiva Shekhar in the series. Jaideep Ahlawat, on the other hand, was recently seen in Ajeeb Daastaans and Sandeep Aur Pinky Faraar.