Hindi News

‘Kaun Banega Crorepati’ Contestant Slapped with Chargesheet for Participating in the Amitabh Bachchan-Hosted Game Show

A contestant on the Amitabh Bachchan-hosted game show Kaun Banega Crorepati 13 has been slapped with a chargesheet by the Railway Administration for taking part in the show, Times Now reported.


The report states that a chargesheet has been filed against Desh Bandhu Panday, a railway employee from Kota, Rajasthan, because his leave application to take part in the show was not approved by the railway administration.

However, despite his leave application not being considered, Panday had stayed in Mumbai from August 9-13 to take part in the game show, which returned recently to the small screen for its 13th season.

The report also states that railway employees’ organisations have protested against the administration’s move. Khalid, the divisional secretary of West Central Railway Mazdoor Sangh, reportedly said that the railway administration has not done well by Pandey.

Panday took home Rs 3,40,000 on the game show after he incorrectly answered the 11th question worth Rs 6,40,000.

More details related to the case are awaited.

Meanwhile, Kaun Banega Crorepati is set to get its first crorepati in Himani Bundela. While her episode is yet to air, a promo video shows that Bundela won at least Rs 1 crore, and also attempted the question worth Rs 7 crore.

The 13th season of the game show, which started airing last week, is being hosted once again in front of a live audience. Last season, the live audience was removed in order to comply with the Covid-19 regulations.


On the film front, Bachchan recently saw the theatrical release of Chehre. The film, also starring Emraan Hashmi, became the second major Hindi film to premiere in theatres following the second wave of the pandemic.

Directed by Rumy Jafry, the mystery-thriller was earlier scheduled to have a theatrical release on April 9 but was postponed due to the ongoing pandemic. The film also features Annu Kapoor, Krystle D’Souza, Dhritiman Chatterjee, Raghubir Yadav, Rhea Chakraborty, and Siddhanth Kapoor.