Malayalam News

Alien Aliyan: Makers of Android Kunjappan Version 5.25 Announce Sequel

Android Kunjappan Version 5.25, the 2019 Malayalam film, is set to get a sequel titled Alien Aliyan, the film’s producer Santhosh T Kuruvilla announced on his social media handle on Friday. 


Android Kunjappan is a satire comedy-drama written and directed by Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval. The film featuring Suraj Venjaramoodu, Soubin Shahir, Sooraj Thalekkad, Kendy Zirdo, and Shaiju Kurup was released on November 8, 2019.

In his announcement about the sequel, Santhosh wrote, “Kunjappan again! The second part of Android Kunjappan which won the hearts of family audience is coming. It is titled Alien Aliyan and the film will be written and directed by Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval.”

He also added that he will be producing Alien Aliyan under the banner STK Film Frames. 

According to the synopsis on IMDb, Android Kunjappan Version 5.25  is the story of “a conventional, conservative small town villager and his son who has to move away from home due to his profession. Their relationship gets an endearing twist when an AI humanoid enters their lives and fills in their emptiness.” 

The film won three Kerala State Film Awards under the categories, Best Actor (Suraj Venjaramodu), Best Debutant Director (Ratheesh) and Best Art Director (Jothish Shankar). 

Android Kunjappan 5.25 is currently being remade in Tamil as Google Kuttappan, featuring Tharshan, Losliya and KS Ravikumar. The Tamil remake rights were acquired by KS Ravikumar and the film is directed by his former assistants Sabari and Saravanan, with music by M Ghibran.

The Malayalam film was earlier dubbed in Telugu as Android kattappa 5.25 and released on Aha Video. 


Meanwhile, director Ratheesh finished shooting for his second film Kanakam Kaamini Kalaham, starring Nivin Pauly, Grace Antony and Vinay Forrt, in December 2020. The film is awaiting release. 

In March, Ratheesh’s third directorial was announced. The film titled Nna Thaan Case Kodu will star Kunchacko Boban, Vinay Forrt, Gayathri Shankar, Shaiju Kurup and Jaffer Idukki and will be produced by Santhosh Kuruvilla, Aashiq Abu and Madhu Neelakandan.