India's Premier Cinema Magazine

India News

Anushka’s Baagamathie To Release On January 26; Nandi Awards Controversy & More

Anushka Shetty at Kanika Dhillon's The Dance of Durga Book Launch

Anushka’s Baagamathie to release on January 26

The first look of Baagamathie was released on November 6 and now it has been announced that the thriller will release on January 26 next year. After Baahubali, this will be Anushka’s next big release.

Unni Mukundan is paired opposite Anushka and the film is being directed by Ashok G.

Dhanush gets nostalgic about ‘Kolaveri D’

Dhanush got nostalgic about the song ‘Why This Kolaveri D’  which went viral six years. The song  was composed by Anirudh Ravichander for Dhanush’s film 3. Directed by Aishwarya Dhanush, the song was called the ‘soup song’, about a guy who sings about his failed love. 

Two more stills of Naragasooran unveiled

Director Karthick Naren of Dhuruvangal Pathinaru fame is almost ready with his next film, Naragasooran. The director has been generating interest by sharing photos of the film at regular intervals. Earlier, he had released stills of Arvind Swamy and Malayalam actor Indrajith. The latest stills reveal the character names and a little bit about their stories.

Produced by Gautham Menon, the film has Shriya Saran and Aathmika of Meesaya Murukku fame as female leads and Arvind Swamy and Sundeep Kishan in lead roles.

Jai’s new film titled Jarugandi

Actor Jai in Vadacurry Movie Stills

Actor Nitin Sathya is co-producing a film with Jai in the lead role and the film has now been titled Jarugandi. Reba John is the heroine in the film, which will be directed by Pichumani. This movie is produced by Nitin Satya and Badri Kasturi under their banners Shvedh and Shraddha Entertainment respectively.

“We wanted a title that not only suits the script but that is also catchy. The term Jarugandi is used at Tirumala temple to move the queue. This will be a laugh riot and Jai plays a guy-next-door,” said Nithin Sathya in an official statement.

Robo Shankar, Danny, Siruthai Amith, Ilavarasu and Mime Gopi are also part of the cast.

Row over Nandi awards

Post the announcement of Nandi Awards, Andhra Pradesh State Film Development Corporation (APSFDC) is under the radar for its selection of the jury after many in the industry alleged that they were biased as some of the good films were left out without a mention.

Popular lyricist also criticised the APSFDC for their biased attitude in selecting awards for writers. Lalita Bhaskarabhatlahas pointed out that Oka Lalana was not considered for the Nandi awards. Bhaskarabhatla Ravikumar is the only lyricist who was not considered for any award. 

According to a report in Deccan Chronicle, Yarlagadda Ratnakumar, who is the chairman of Y Screens said that the jury did not select Rudrama Devi. “Such acts will discourage the industry from producing historical films which depict Telugu culture and history,” he said.

© Copyright 2013 - 2020 Silverscreen Media Inc.