India's Premier Cinema Magazine

India News

Indian Panorama Award 2019: Popular Regional Films Given Top Honours


The complete winners of the Indian Panorama section, under the International Film Festival of India (IFFI),  were announced on Wednesday. A total of 26 feature films and 15 non-feature films have been selected, featuring films like Gully Boy, Jallikattu, Uri: The Surgical Strike, House Owner, F2 and more.

The list has names films like Anandi Gopal (Marathi), Hellaro (Guajarati), F2 (Telugu), Ek Je Chhilo Raja (Bengali), Kolaambi (Malayalam), Oththa Seruppu Size 7 (Tamil), Uyare (Malayalam), Iewduh (Garo/Khai), Badhaai Ho (Hindi), Super 30 (Hindi), In The Land Of Poison Women (Pangchengpa), among other films.

According to the official website, the feature film jury was headed by filmmaker and screenwriter Priyadarshan while the non-feature jury was headed by documentary filmmaker Rajendra Janglay.

According to the website, the aim of the Indian Panorama, organised by the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India, is to select feature and non-feature films of cinematic, thematic and aesthetic excellence, for the promotion of film art through the non-profit screening of these films in various national and international film festivals.

It was introduced in 1978 as a part of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) to promote the rich culture and heritage of Indian films.

The 51st chapter of IFFI had recently been postponed to January 2021, due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. It was earlier scheduled to be held from November 20 to November 28, 2020. The festival is reportedly going to be conducted in a virtual and physical format, while adhering to all Covid-19 protocols.

© Copyright 2013 - 2021 Silverscreen Media Inc.