India's Premier Cinema Magazine

Hindi News

Raazi Wins Big At Filmfare Awards


Karan Johar’s production Raazi won the top honours at the 69th Filmfare Awards, bagging five honours, including Best Film. Alia Bhatt won best actress, Meghna Gulzar best director, Arijit Singh Best Playback Singer (male) for ‘Ae Watan’ and Gulzar for lyrics for the same song. Ranbir Kapoor was adjudged the Best Actor for his performance in Sanju. Badhaai Ho was another film that did very well, bagging four awards.


Raazi is about a young Kashmiri girl who becomes a spy and marries a Pakistani Army officer. The film was based on writer Harinder Sikka’s novel Calling Sehmat.

The award for the Best Supporting Actor was shared by Gajraj Rao and Vicky Kaushal for their performances in Badhaai Ho and Sanju, respectively. Badhaai Ho, among the many sleeper hits of the year, also won Best Supporting Actress for 74-year-old Surekha Sikri and  Best Supporting (Critics) for Neena Gupta. Earlier Shantanu Srivastava and Akshat Ghildial, writers of the movie, had withdrawn their names from the nomination after Jyoti Kapoor demanded writing credits for the story.

Ranveer Singh, who played Alauddin Khilji in Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Padmaavat shared the won the Best Actor (Critics) award with Ayushmann Khuranna, who won the award for his turn as a blind piano player in Sriram Raghavan’s Andhadhun. The movie also won the Best Film (Critics). Currently gearing up for a China release, crime thriller Andhadhun also featured Tabu and Radhika Apte.

In the technical category, Sohan Shah’s mystery-adventure-horror-thriller Tumbbad won awards for production design, cinematography and sound design while Shah Rukh Khan’s Zero won the award for special effects.

Following is the list of major winners:

Best Film:Raazi

Critics’ Award for Best Film: AndhaDhun

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female): Alia Bhatt, Raazi

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male): Ranbir Kapoor, Sanju

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female): Neena Gupta, Badhaai Ho

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male): Ranveer Singh for Padmaavat, Ayushmann Khurrana for Andhadhun

Best Debut Actor (Female): Sara Ali Khan, Kedarnath

Best Debut Actor (Male): Ishaan Khatter, Beyond The Clouds

Best Director: Meghna Gulzar, Raazi

Best Debut Director: Amar Kaushik, Stree

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male): Gajraj Rao, Badhaai Ho and Vicky Kaushal, Sanju

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Surekha Sikri, Badhaai Ho

Best Dialogue: Akshat Ghildial, Badhaai Ho

Best Original Story: Anubhav Sinha, Mulk

Best Actor (Male) in a Short Film: Hussain Dalal, Shameless

Best Actor (Female) in a Short Film: Kirti Kulhari, Maya

People’s Choice Award for Best Short Film: Plus Minus

Best Short Film (Fiction): Rogan Josh

Best Short Film (Non-Fiction): The Soccer City

Best Music Album: Padmaavat

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for ‘Ae Watan’, Raazi

Best Playback Singer (Female): Shreya Ghoshal for ‘Ghoomar’, Padmaavat

Best Lyrics: Gulzar for ‘Ae Watan’, Raazi.

Best Lyrics: AndhaDhun

Best Background Score: Daniel George, AndhaDhun

Best Sound Design: Kunal Sharma, Tumbbad

Best Choreography: Kruti Mahesh Midya, Jyoti Tomaar for Ghoomar, “Padmaavat”

Best Action: Vikram Dahiya, Sunil Rodriguez, Mukkabaaz

Best Cinematography: Pankaj Kumar, Tumbbad

Best Editing: Pooja Ladha Surti, AndhaDhun

Best Costume: Sheetal Sharma, Manto

Best Production Design: Nitin Zihani Chaudhary and Rajesh Yadav – Tumbbad

Best Screenplay: Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Pooja Ladha Surti, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemanth Rao – Andhadhun

Best VFX: Red Chillies Fx, Zero

Image Courtesy:


© Copyright 2013 - 2020 Silverscreen Media Inc.