Tamil News

Ravi Varma Wins Chinnathirai Nadigar Sangam Elections Amidst Clashes

The Chinnathirai Nadigar Sangam elections were held in Chennai recently. Four different teams under the leadership of Ravi Varma, actor Bose Venkat, actress Nirosha and former president Sivan Srinivasan contested for the same. After the counting ended on the election day, Ravi Varma was declared president of the association, and ‘Aadukalam’ Naren won the post of the secretary.

Chinnathirai Nadigar Sangam (Smallscreen Actors Association) was established some years ago, and an election is held every three years. This time it was held on January 26. On the day of elections, Naveendran, who is supposed to contest for the post of the treasurer from Bose Venkat’s team, was disqualified. According to reports, the election rules state that contestants should not talk to media before elections. But Naveendran gave an interview for a news website, and Nirosha’s team made a complaint to the election officer Liyakathalikhan in this regard. Bose Venkat’s team tried to convince Nirosha’s team on this issue, but the latter didn’t give in. So Naveendran was opted out of the election.


There was some chaos during the end of the election day too, when the counting began but votes of the members were misplaced from the boxes. So 16 votes took place on Sunday again, following which Ravi Varma won the elections. However, the association, with nearly 1500 members, suspect that some misleading might have happened.

Jayanth has been elected as the treasurer, while Rajcanth and Manobala will serve as vice presidents of the association. Ashok Samuel, Vijay Anandh, MD Mohan and Karpagavalli are joint secretaries, and Chinna Jayanth, Devi Kruba, Siva Kavitha, Birla Bose, Ravi Shankar, Easwar are among others on committee members list.

Image courtesy: Twitter