India News

SIIMA 2017: Kirik Party Wins Big; Ranbir And Katrina Pay A Visit

SIIMA 2017

The sixth edition of the South Indian International Movie Awards (SIIMA 2017) took place in Abu Dhabi on June 30 and July 1, amid much fanfare. Designer gowns, sharp three-piece suits and lots of hair gel aside, SIIMA had some noteworthy performances, too. 


Day 1:

Honouring artistes and films from the Kannada and Telugu film industries, Day 1 had stars such as Shivaraj Kumar, SP Balasubrahmanyam, Suhasini Mani Ratnam, Khushbu Sundar, Ambika, Saritha, Lakshmi Manchu, Mohan Babu, Rana Daggubati, Shriya Saran, Regina Cassandra, Allu Sirish, Shraddha Srinath, Rakul Preet Singh and Nikki Galrani in attendance. 

With Allu Sirish and actor Srikanth’s son Roshan playing hosts, the awards ceremony began with a tribute to Dasari Narayana Rao, who passed away on May 30 this year. Akhil Akkineni also performed Yevevo Kalalu Kanna, from his upcoming film. While Akhil sang the song live on stage, music director Anup Rubens played the piano. 

In Kannada, Kirik Party bagged the Best Movie Award, Shivarajkumar the Best Actor Award for Shivalinga and Shraddha Srinath the Best Actress Award for U-Turn.

Full list

Best Actor in a Supporting Role Kannada (Male) -Chandan Achar (Kirik Party)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role Kannada (Female) – Radhika Chetan (U Turn)
Best Actor in a Negative Role Kannada- Vasishta N Simha (Godhi Banna Sadarana Mykattu)
Best Lyricist Kannada- Dhananjay Ranjan for ‘Belageddu Yara Mukhava’ (Kirik Party)
Best Music Director Kannada- B Ajaneesh Lokanath (Kirik Party)
Best Playback Singer Kannada (Female) – Indu Nagaraj for ‘Doddamane Hudga’ (Thraas Akkathi)
Best Playback Singer Kannada (Male) – Armaan Malik for ‘Sariyaagi Nenapide’ (Mungaru Male 2)
Best Comedian Kannada- Ravishankar Gowda for Sundaranga Jaana
Best Debutant Kannada (Female) – Rashmika Mandanna (Kirik Party)
Best Debutant Kannada (Male)- Nikhil Kumaraswamy (Jaguar)
Best Debutant Director (Kannada)- Hemanth M Rao (Godhi Banna Sadharana Mykattu)
Critics Best Actress (Kannada) -Parul Yadav (Killing Veerappan)
Entertainer of the Year (Kannada) – Rakshit Shetty
Best Director (Kannada) – Rishab Shetty ( Kirik Party)
Best Actor (Kannada) – Shivarajkumar (Shivalinga)
Best Actress (Kannada) – Shraddha Srinath (U-Turn)
Best Film (Kannada)- Kirik Party

In Telugu films, Jr NTR won the Best Actor for Janatha Garage and Rakul Preet Singh Best Actress for Nannaku Prematho.

Full list

Best Film (Telugu) – Pellichoopulu
Best Director (Telugu) – Vamsi Paidipally (Oopiri)
Best Actor (Telugu) – Jr NTR (Janatha Garage)
Best Actress (Telugu) – Rakul Preet Singh (Nannaku Prematho)
Best Actor Telugu Male (Critic) Award- Nani (Gadi Veera Prema Gaadha)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Telugu) – Srikanth (Sarraainodu)
Best Actress in a supporting role (Telugu)- Anasuya (Kshanam)
Best Music Director (Telugu)- Devi Sri Prasad (Janatha Garage)
Best Lyricist (Telugu) – Ramajogayya Shastri for ‘Pranamam’ (Janatha Garage)
Best Actor in a Negative role (Telugu) Jagapathi Babu (Nannaku Prematho)
Best Playback Singer Telugu (Male)- Sagar for ‘Sailaja’ (Nenu Sailaja)
Best Playback Singer Telugu(Female) – Ramya Behara for ‘Rang De’ (A…Aa)
Best Male Debutant (Telugu)- Roshan for Nirmala Convent
Best Female Debutant (Telugu) – Nivetha Thomas (Gentleman)
Best Comedian (Telugu) – Priyadarshi (Pelli Choopulu)
Best Debut Director (Telugu)- Tharun Bhasckar (Pelli Choopulu)
Lifetime Achievement Award- Muralimohan Maganti

Day 2:

 The second day of the event was dedicated to Tamil and Malayalam films and artistes. Performances by Manjima Mohan, Nikki Galrani, and Usha Uthup kept the audience enthralled. Ranbir Kapoor and Katrina Kaif’s participation was quite a surprise to many. Promoting their upcoming film Jagga Jasoos, the actors interacted with celebrities from the South, occasionally broke into a “lungi dance” or took selfies.

Here are the list of winners (Tamil & Malayalam)

Lifetime Achievement Award – SP Balasubrahmanyam

Best Actor In a Negative role (Tamil) – Trisha Krishnan for Kodi

Best Actress (Tamil) – Nayanthara for Iru Mugan and for Puthiya Niyamam (Malayalam)

Best Entertainer of the Year Award – Vijay

Best Lyricist – Madhan Karky for Munnaal Kadhali

Best Singer Female (Tamil) – KS Chithra

Best Singer Male (Tamil) – Anirudh Ravichander

Best Actor (Tamil) – Sivakarthikeyan for Remo

Best Director (Tamil) – Atlee for Theri

Critics choice for Best Actor (Tamil) – Madhavan for Irudhi Suttru

Critics choice for Best Actress (Tamil) – Varalaxmi Sarathkumar for Thaarai Thapattai

Best Supporting Actor (Tamil) – Prakash Raj


Best Actress in a Debut Role (Tamil) – Ritika Singh for Irudhi Suttru

Best Debut Director (Tamil) – Karthick Naren for Dhuruvangal Pathinaaru

Best Film (Malayalam) – Kammatipaadam

Best Director (Malayalam) – Vyasakh

Best Actor in a Negative Role (Malayalam) – Chemban Vinod Jose

Best Playback Singer Male (Malayalam) – Sooraj Santosh

Best Playback Singer Female (Malayalam) – KS Chithra

Best Music Director (Malayalam) – Bijibal

Critics choice for Best Actor (Malayalam) – Nivin Pauly 

Critics choice for Best Actress (Malayalam) – Asha Sarath

Best Actor (Malayalam) – Mohanlal

Best Supporting Actress (Malayalam) – Lakshmy Ramakrishnan for Jacobinte Swargarajyam


Pics: SIIMA’s official Twitter page