Telugu News

SS Rajamouli’s Eega Wins Big At Nandi Awards

SS Rajamouli’s 2012 sci-fi entertainer Eega, which starred Nani and Samantha Ruth Prabhu in lead roles, bagged many awards at the Andhra Pradesh Government-instituted Nandi Awards for the year 2012-2013. The movie took home prizes for Best Film, Best Director, Best Music Director, Best Cinematography and Best VFX among other categories. 

Julayi, which saw Allu Arjun and Ileana D’Cruz in the lead, was awarded Best Popular Film. 

The list of winners:



Best Film – Eega
Best Director – Rajamouli SS (Eega)
Best Actor – Nani (Yeto Vellipoyindi Manasu)
Best Actress – Samantha (Yeto Vellipoyindi Manasu)
2nd Best Film – Minugurulu
3rd Best Film – Mithunam
Best Home Viewing Film – Ishq
Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment – Julayi
Best Supporting Actor – Ajay (Ishq)
Best Villain – Sudeep (Eega)
Best Debut Director – Ayodhya Kumar (Minugurulu)
Best Story writer – Ayodhya Kumar (Minugurulu)
Best Screenplay writer – Rajamouli (Eega)
Best Dialogue writer – Tanikella Bharani (Mithunam)
Best Cinematographer – Senthil Kumar (Eega)
Best Music Director – Keeravani (Eega) & Ilayaraja (Yeto Vellipoyindi Manasu)
Best Editor – Kotagivi Venkateswara Rao (Eega)
Best VFX – Eega

Winners for 2013:

Best Film – Mirchi
Best Director – Daya Kodavaganti (Alias Janaki)
Best Actor – Prabhas (Mirchi)
Best Actress – Anjali Patil (Naa Bangaru Thalli)
2nd Best Film – Naa Bangaru Thalli
3rd Best Film – Uyyala Jampala
Best Home Viewing Film – SVSC
Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment – Attharintiki Dare

Best Supporting Actor – Prakash Raj (SVSC)
Best Supporting Actress – Nadiya (AD)
Best Villain – Sampat Raj (Mirchi)
Best Debut Director – Koratala Siva (Mirchi)
Best Story writer – Indraganti Mohanakrishna (Anthakumundu Aatarvatha)
Best Screenplay writer – Merlapaka Gandhi (Venkatadri Express)
Best Dialogue writer – Trivikram Sreenivas (AD)
Best Cinematographer – Muralimohan Reddy (Kamalato Naa Prayanam)
Best Music Director – Devisri Prasad (AD)
Best Editor – Praveen Pudi (Kaalicharan)
Best Art director – AS Prakash (Mirchi)


The Nandi Awards, instituted in 1964, is presented in several categories to appreciate the talent pool in Telugu cinema, television, and theater. The recipients of the awards are presented with the Nandi memorabilia along with cash prizes and certificates. The event was temporarily stalled during the recent years due to the division of states into Andhra Pradesh and Telengana. While the Andhra Pradesh Government has decided to continue with the Nandi Awards, Telengana is likely to come up with a new series of awards to honour their artistes. 

Pic: AP News Live