India News

PM Asks Mohanlal, AR Rahman, Nagarjuna And Others To Encourage People To Vote

This morning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi posted close to 30 tweets asking selected actors, celebrities, ‘spiritual gurus’, opposition leaders, sports persons and media houses to encourage the public to cast their votes for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.


Mohanlal, Nagarjuna and AR Rahman were featured on this list. Karan Johar, Ranveer Singh, Alia Bhatt, Vicky Kaushal, Ayushmann Khurrana and others from the Bollywood group that met Modi early this year to discuss nation-building, were tagged.

Modi asked Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Salman Khan, Aamir Khan, and Karan Johar to “creatively ensure high voter awareness and participation in the coming elections.” He also appealed to Shankar Ehsaan Loy and Manoj Bajpayee.

Some of them responded to the PM:

Apart from the three news agencies – Mathrubhumi, Dhina Thanthi, and Eenadu, others from media to be featured were from Times Group, Republic TV, Swarajya Mag, Aaj Tak, and India Today.

Modi then asked for the participation of the spiritual gurus he has been associated with in the past. He tweeted to Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Sadhguru, Baba Ramdev asking for “greater voter awareness.” In a tweet after this he asked industrialists Ratan Tata, Anand Mahindra, Ashish Chauhan to support the participation of voters saying, “India wins when our democracy gets strengthened.”

Modi’s tweets said that these were the people who had made India proud, and had the power to influence others. He said, “The award here is a vibrant democracy.”

The prime minister also tagged chief ministers Nitish Kumar, Naveen Patnaik, HD Kumaraswamy, N Chandrababu Naidu and Pawan Chamling. He called out to Rahul Gandhi, Mamta Banarjee, Mayawati, MK Stalin and other opposition leaders for support.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav responded with a dig at Modi, urging people to elect a new prime minister in the Lok Sabha elections.

Modi’s tweets came soon after he posted ‘four requests for democracy’ on his blog, asking people to plan and register to be able to vote these elections. The Lok Sabha polls will be held for 543 seats between April 11 and May 19. The counting of votes will happen on May 23.

Image Courtesy: NDTV