Tamil News

Vijay Sethupathi Wins Best Actor For ‘Super Deluxe’ At Melbourne International Film Festival

Vijay Sethupathi At The 'Tughlaq Durbar' Movie Launch

Vijay Sethupathi won the Best Actor Award for Super Deluxe at the ongoing Melbourne International Film Festival in Australia. Rima Das, Tabu, Sriram Raghavan and Zoya Akhtar were among the awardees.


The festival was began on August 8, and will be on till August 17 across different locations in Melbourne, with screenings, panel discussions and award nights.

Pictures of actors Vijay Sethupathi and Gayathrie with Shah Rukh Khan – the chief guest for the festival, Tabu and Arjun Kapoor were shared yesterday.

The jury for the year included writer-director Fred Schepisi, Academy Award-winning editor Jill Bilcock, critic Rajeev Masand, actors Victoria Hill and Vince Colosimo.

Super Deluxe also won the honourary Equality in Cinema Award, and the film’s director Thiagarajan Kumararaja, actors Vijay Sethupathi and Gayathrie were part of a panel discussion with Rajeev Masand. Discussions with Andhadhun team, and directors Zoya Akhtar and Rima Das on women in cinema were also held.

Vijay Sethupathi was nominated for Best Actor along with Amitabh Bachchan for Badla, Ayushman Khuranna for Andhadhun, Ranveer Singh for Gully Boy, Manoj Bajpai for Bhonsle, Vicky Kaushal for Uri, Namdev Gaurav for Namdev Bhau.


Bulbul Can Sing, Gully Boy, Andhadhun, among other films bagged awards.

Here’s the list of awardees:

Best Short Film: My Name is Mohamed And Raghad, We Don’t Exist Here Anymore by Ali Mousawi, and Be My Brother by Genevieve Clay.

Telstra People’s Choice Award: Simmba

Best Director: Sriram Raghavan for Andhadhun

Best Actor: Vijay Sethupathi for Super Deluxe

Best Actress: Tabu for Andhadhun

Best Indie filmBulbul Can Singh

Best FilmGully Boy

PWC Equality in Cinema: Chuskit and Super Deluxe

Additionally, the IFFM Diversity Award was given to filmmaker Onir, and Shah Rukh Khan was awarded the IFFM Excellence in Cinema award.

The IFFM is the biggest Indian film festival hosted outside India, and is currently in its 10th year and also celebrating 20 years of Karan Johar’s Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. 

Guneet Monga, Tabu, Arjun Kapoor, Malaika Arora, Karan Johar, and Chuskit director Priya Ramasubban were among the chief guests.